Most of your Life is Online

Febelfin is the Belgian Financial Sector Federation. It tries to protect the interest of its 238 members with those of the policy makers, supervisors, trade associations and pressure groups at the national and European level. (Wikipedia)

Their recent online campaign was published in September 2012, and I have to say it definitely is interesting!

Feblin first caught the attention of the viewer by using regular, “random” people on the street to experiment. I feel like this tactic mostly works, because as a user we may relate to one of the instances. In that sense, Febelfin did a good job in the “relevance”factor.

By the end of the video, we realize it is actually an ad for a bank, and not a social experiment. Febelfin capitalized on the fact that most people publish information about themselves online, used it in an experiment, and then reminded its overall target segment to be prudent, and that Febelfin can help with the safety aspect.

I love ads like these, where there is an unexpected twist at the end!

Even though I did not know what Febelfin was when I watched the ad, but the fact that it made me want to go research the brand name shows that the ad was successful in instilling interest in me..

I also believe that video ads like these can easily go viral as people post them on facebook, twitter and other social media networks.